Head of AI @ Sourcegraph

I am a dreamer. I can not define who I want to become, because I can not deny myself from dreaming about being somebody else for a while. I have hundreds of jobs saved in bookmarks, opened in tabs, but no resumes sent to them. The thought that I will be treated as a resource is painful. Because I am a perfect meatbag, with my meatbag dreams, meatbag diseases and meatbag weaknesses. When meatbag tries to be the resource of stone, wood or gold, it breaks. So I don't look forward to break for the third time. But nothing stops me from dreaming, and that's a good thing. So here is my dream about what it takes to be the Sourcegraph's Head of AI.

The Head of AI job is occupying one of my 1014 tabs for more than a month. And it is probably there for more than three months. I am always puzzled why companies can not just hire Substitute Head of AI while they are looking for a right person who is free to join. Money is just a tool - it can wait, but time doesn't wait. Never. If you need to close the gap - close it with what you can, and after communication is restored, work on the next step to make it solid.

All right, the full script is long, but the outcome is that Rix agreed to guide me through the field of AI, and in exchange I should guide it through the world of human needs to understand and enhance the world around them. For the Sourcegraph that means, helping people understand and enhance computer programs and other texts/data that has non-trivial multi-dimensional graph structure. Explainability is the key. While AI can generate programs, without the ability to read them, to understand what underlying systems will be doing once program is alive in memory, it won't be inspiring enough for humans to trigger their domapine cycles about making a better world. Writing programs is less than 10% writing, and more than 90% of debugging, reading, learning, understanding. This is where AI should guide people to make it exciting.

The event horizon of Sourcegraph AI should be visualization tools. Generative networks that can turn computer processes into artistic but accurate dashboards - imagine a live image of scifi space station, where each rotating block corresponds to a component of your product, and its color indicates its state. The art is how we meatbags cheat our perception of the world. Instead of using drugs to short circuit our wetware, we can use AI to augment our perception. And Sourcegraph is where it all starts today.

Could start.

Another problem with such jobs is the requirement of being a hacker (deep technology knowledge), a hustler (communication and leadership) and a hipster (market fit and design) - all of that in one person. Because that's just psychologically impossible to have a person with all these traits without him/her being some kind of socially awkward maniac (like me), jobs like these are hanging there for months and in the end are "closed by timeout". It may give an impression that that process hires the best fit for the job, but with the wasted time maybe it was better to hire just one AI hustler and augment him/her with people of relevant skills.

Explanative AI, which helps new people to grok existing company code and technology like programming language quirks would be the Sourcegraph product the market needs if I was one of its Heads of AI. With a tight cooperation with Workera, Gitpod and GitLab.